“If all women are feminists, then this strategy can work. But if the most attractive women are Republicans, then it will start breaking down.”

Good looking conservative women threaten the liberal status quo.  Or, in the alternative, Republicans are the new sexy. 

But seriously, the writer here is saying something I’ve noticed for a while.  Republicans have always had the stereotype of being old, and, with that, unattractive.  People, particularly young people, (and, I hate to say it, but even more particularly, young women) eschew the unattractive and unsexy, and gravitate towards that which they would like to emulate.  Women like those described in the article were brave enough to buck that, and now they’re changing our impressions of what is attractive.  Interesting.

4 Responses

  1. The “ladies” of the left seem really insecure. It’s like they never grew up to flower into adulthood.

    Be a mama grizzly!

    http://tinyurl.com/mama-grizzly

  2. Ha! I love it!

  3. I read the whole article, and it was interesting. I have only one quibble with him. He implies that not all women, or even “hot” Republican women are feminists.

    For a long time, I didn’t consider myself a feminist because I associated feminism with NOW-style gender politics, all focusing on grievances and man-hating. I didn’t identify with that, and I still don’t.

    More recently, however, I’ve come to the conclusion: Why should THEY get to define “feminism?” The very earliest feminists have more in common with my philosophies than with the Steinem types.

    I am a conservative, but I do consider myself a feminist in the sense that, “as a women, I can do anything I please.” And I appreciate the work of the women before me who paved the road before me. In fact, I believe equality has been achieved, evidenced by the fact that, as a child, no one told me I couldn’t do anything, such as go to college and have a career. Likewise, no one told me I shouldn’t get married and have a family. In short, I was and am free to make life decisions in my best interest, and no one has put any limits on me.

    Isn’t that what true equality is all about? Not some pie-in-the-sky gender ratios in traditionally male-dominated fields, but empowering women to make the best decisions that work for THEM, not some elusive political agenda.

    A new term has been bandied around, called frontier feminism or pioneer feminism. It calls to mind the women who helped build the west–strong, determined, tough, yet nurturing and civilized, the west couldn’t have been built without them. In other words, “mama grizzlies,” perhaps?

    • AJ, I agree with your quibble- to tell you the truth, it was a meandering and poorly organized article, but I still thought that he raised a good point.

      I’ve been thinking about this issue a lot lately, and want to do an article, or maybe a series of articles, about what exactly a feminist is, but I just haven’t gelled it all yet. I was particularly shocked and dismayed by the “feminist” writers who decried the nominations of Carly Fiorina and Meg Witman in CA as being bad for women. I love what you said “Why should THEY get to define ‘feminism'”? Maybe that’s the theme I’m looking for.

      I also agree with you on equality being pretty much there- I had the same experience growing up (even in a very conservative and traditional family) and even today, when I say that I would like to be the breadwinner and my husband stay home w/ kids, no one puts that down. Back when everyone thought that Hillary Clinton was going to be president, I read an article that mentioned little girls wearing buttons that said “I could be president” and thought that that was just strange. I strongly remember believing that I could become president growing up, before I’d ever even heard of Ms. Clinton.

      I like where folks are going with the frontier/pioneer thing, but I’m not sure it’s right. I don’t want to take anything away from those women; they were crazy awesome, but they were still limited in what role they could play. They couldn’t become doctors or lawyers or governors of Alaska because of their sex. I’ve struggled to try to find a word, too- I’ve tried “equalist” but that just sounds dumb. I think that the accepted term is “post-feminist” but I don’t love that, either.

      Maybe I’d rather just move to take the word “feminist” away from the ones that claim it but keep women and families down instead. How can we go about doing that, I wonder?

Leave a Reply

