What would a “real black president” do?

I would expect that he would do one of many things, depending on the type of president that he is and situation.  Because I believe that black people are individuals who can think for themselves.  Bill Maher, however, thinks that all “real” black people are a cartoon stereotype

“I thought when we elected a black president, we were going to get a black president. You know, this [BP oil spill] is where I want a real black president. I want him in a meeting with the BP CEOs, you know, where he lifts up his shirt so you can see the gun in his pants. That’s — (in black man voice) ‘we’ve got a motherfu**ing problem here?’ Shoot somebody in the foot.”

Now, I realize that Maher is just a shock jock without the radio show, and we’re really just giving him what he wants by paying attention to him, but I really want to know when society is going to stop finding these types of stereotypes funny or “edgy” or whatever adjective is describing Bill Maher these days.  We’ve had two black Secretaries of State.  We have a black Attorney General.  We have numerous black CEOs, bosses, neighbors, and employees.  A black man (yeah, he’s real!) is the president of the United States.  None of them act like a cartoon stereotype. 

The other day I caught the movie “Soul Plane.”  (Dont’ ask why.)  While it had a few funny parts, the whole theme was that, if there were a “black” airline (why, 55 years after Brown v. Board of Education, would we even want such a thing?), it would be like this cartoon stereotype (but with more degrading images of women).  If I could count all of the times that I’ve heard the N word in my life until then, it wouldn’t be as many times as it was said in the movie (and I live in the south).  Throughout the weekend, I’ve been trying to think of something that I could say about this movie that wouldn’t be racist, and I couldn’t.  If I believed that blacks were really like they were portrayed in the movie (which I absolutely do not), I would want segregation, too.  And I’m sure that the producers of that movie weren’t a bunch of honky redneck southerners. 

Why do people keep snickering and accepting these ridiculous portrayals of black men?  How much does this impact our ability to move past thinking judging people by the color of their skin?  And why does this stuff keep coming from people who are supposed to be “enlightened?”

Leave a Reply

