Breast-possesser Wins Oscar

This article from NewsBlaze is basically a summary of the Oscars, but the headline caught my attention: “Kathryn Bigelow Advances Achievement of Women with Hurt Locker”

Now, to be fair, I’m glad that Hurt Locker got a lot of good attention.  I personally haven’t been to the movies since Sweeney Todd was in theaters (what can I say, I’ve got a thing for offbeat, uber-violent musicals.  And Johnny Depp*.  I’m not asking you to understand.)  But I’ve heard pretty good things about Hurt Locker.  If I wanted to see a movie, maybe I’d consider that one.  (OK, I do really want to see Alice in Wonderland, but we’re getting off track.) 

It’s just that I want the best director to win; not the best woman.  Was the academy swayed by the urge to pick the first woman winner?  I guess we’ll never know whether Ms. Bigelow legitimately earned this award. 

* It’s not that I find him attractive; I don’t. Far too pretty for my tastes.  I just like him.  Again, not asking you to understand.

2 Responses

  1. Sweeny Todd was awesome.

    I don’t think that The Hurt Locker win was biased. I have seen two of the other movies from the directors category. They were good; Hurt Locker was good. It is bound to be sort of subjective..

    You should see it though. Great suspense.

    • I hope I didn’t sound like I was saying that she didn’t deserve it; I really have no idea. Just that the focus on her sex lends an air of illegitimacy to it.

      I’m not a big moviegoer, but I might see it sometime (probably when it comes out on video). I’ve heard good things.

Leave a Reply

