I don’t like it when people call the president a moron

Or an idiot, or stupid, or any other name my mother used to chide me or my brother for calling each other when we were fighting over who got the toy surprise from the Apple Jacks box.  So I simply don’t know how to react to this video, pointed out by theblogprof. (via Instapundit)

Normally, I don’t watch web videos: I prefer to keep the sound off, they’re sometimes slow, sometimes they take too long to make their point.  I’d prefer to just read at my own pace.  But when I read this transcript:

When I was young, just got out of college, I had to buy auto insurance. I had a beat-up old car. And I won’t name the name of the insurance company, but there was a company — let’s call it Acme Insurance in Illinois. And I was paying my premiums every month. After about six months I got rear-ended and I called up Acme and said, I’d like to see if I can get my car repaired, and they laughed at me over the phone because really this was set up not to actually provide insurance; what it was set up was to meet the legal requirements. But it really wasn’t serious insurance.

Now, it’s one thing if you’ve got an old beat-up car that you can’t get fixed. It’s another thing if your kid is sick, or you’ve got breast cancer.

I actually had to watch it, just to make sure that this wasn’t missing some wisecrack or some explanation. 

When President Obama was running for office, I think that this would have worked as a parody.  Never worked, no real life experience, doesn’t even know the simplest things about insurance.  I would have laughed, taking it as exaggeration.

Leave a Reply

