Lamb Kofte with Yogurt Sauce and Muhammara

In the interest of trying new types of cooking, I tried this recipe  for Lamb Meatballs (from this month’s Bon Appetit Magazine, which is featuring “meatballs” as the dish of the year- be still, my heart!). 

I definitely recommend it, particularly it was delicious in  so many ways.  I know that I tend to fall into a rut of “continental” type foods, mostly American classics (say, meatloaf or mac ‘n cheese) and the heavily Americanized Italian fair that I grew up eating, along with nothing-like-real-Asian Asian foods (fried rice, sweet and sour (fill in the blank meat), etc), so the middle eastern ingredients were a welcome change.  If it is outside of your norm, you should try it all the more. 

Don’t be turned off by the large ingredient list, most are fairly easy to get (I used regular molasses in place of the pomegranate molasses, because it only called for a little bit and I didn’t want to spring for an expensive ingredient, plus I couldn’t find it.)  I served on homemade naan bread, which might not have been authentic, but was sure tasty, cooked on a grill pan (in better weather, I would have done it outside on the grill; a saute pan or griddle works well, too).  Other than the bread, the whole thing came together really quickly, and only used one pan.

Leave a Reply

