“Liberalism would protect me from the big, bad conservatives who wished me harm.”

Robin of Berkeley discusses her journey of seeing liberalism for what it really is: misogynistic. 

Like for most feminists, it was a no-brainer for me to become a Democrat. Liberal men, not conservatives, were the ones devoted to women’s issues. They marched at my side in support of abortion rights. They were enthusiastic about women succeeding in the workplace.

As time went on, I had many experiences that should have made me rethink my certainty. But I remained nestled in cognitive dissonance — therapy jargon for not wanting to see what I didn’t want to see.

One clue: the miscreants who were brutalizing me didn’t exactly look Reagan-esque. In middle and high schools, they were minority kids enraged about forced busing. On the streets of New York City and Berkeley, they were derelicts and hoodlums

Another red flag: while liberal men did indeed hold up those picket signs, they didn’t do anything else to protect me. In fact, their social programs enabled bad behavior and bred chaos in urban America. And when I was accosted by thugs, those leftist men were missing in action.

What else should have tipped me off? Perhaps the fact that so many men in ultra-left Berkeley are sleazebags. Rarely a week goes by that I don’t hear stories from my young female clients about middle-aged men preying on them. With the rationale of moral relativism, these creeps feel they can do anything they please. 

 
This is very much in line with my experience.  The most typically conservative (not even necessarily the politically involved, but those that shared the typical cultural signs) men, in fact, in many cases, the most stereotypical southern redneck men, were the most anxious to rush to the aid of a woman.  They thrive on it; they look forward to a chance to show what a gentleman or knight in shining armor they can be. 
 
I assume that in some cases it could be demeaning, that desire to rush to the aid of a helpless woman, but I’ve never found it to seriously cross over into the same man questioning my intellect or independence.  And anybody who claims that a woman should be able to physically protect herself as well as a man in all or even most situations is a fool; most women simply don’t have the same strength and speed.  I know I don’t, and I’ve been grateful to have good males in my life who walked with me when necessary. 
 
I think that I am very lucky to live in the South, where this attitude is instilled from a young age in many families.  I often see on the net, particularly on more feminist blogs, women complaining that they are unable to go anywhere or do anything without being leered at or facing obscene comments about their bodies.  Perhaps I’m just less attractive than I think I am (for what it’s worth, my very attractive husband was first interested in my appearance, so I can’t be that bad), but this has only very rarely been my experience.  Nor have I heard many friends express this problem, and I can’t remember ever seeing it happen to a girlfriend.  When it has happened to me, those who have done it did not appear to be conservatives.
Leave a Reply

