Dear God, why do I have to keep paying attention to Joy Behar?

And now, George Lopez, too?

You don’t know me, but I promise you, I do not wish to care about the goings on of Joy Behar.  I have effectively ignored The View almost as long as it’s been on, except to ask why such a foolish sounding show so frequently makes the news.  (Sadly, folks at my workplace do often put it on in the break room, so I’ve caught a little while I wait for leftovers to heat, which has not changed my initial perception of the show one bit.  It’s that, or some fascinatingly bad soap opera, so I’m screwed either way.)

Yet, here we go again:

After introducing Lopez on her CNN Headline News program last night, Behar played a clip of Lopez’s HBO special in which he said, “There are a lot of politicians that would be Latinos and a lot now who are Latino. Sarah Palin, Latina. Believe me. She’s got all the signs. She works and her husband don’t.”  

Later in the segment, after commenting about Palin’s lack of experience, Lopez stated, “I mean, the concept of Todd Palin being a stay-at-home dad-listen Joy, when I was a kid, those guys were called bums.”

“Uh-huh. They’re still called bums,” agreed Behar.

Now, I don’t know for sure, what with the constant attempt to ignore everything that she does, but I’d wager that Ms. Behar considers herself a feminist, or at least something close to it. 

My take on feminism has always been that women should have opportunities to be what they want.  If that involves a high powered career in politics, then that should be an open option (provided that she has the talent and energy).  If that choice involves being a mother, that should be an option, too, or instead, or however she wants to play it. 

But, I do not believe that feminism should mean that kids are left to be raised by strangers, or to effectively raise themselves, or to be raised by grandparents while the parents live a Peter Pan fantasy that they are the kids’ peers and friends.  So, if there are kids in the equation, as there certainly are in the Palin family, one of the parents needs to work to raise them.  If that parent has a penis, I can’t see how that would matter any more than it would matter that the state governor, or company CEO, or president, has a vagina.  That is, it matters not, as long as the person is up to the job. 

But somehow, in 2008, liberals suddenly decided that a woman’s place is in the home.  Women who I knew in law school, who had almost certainly lived their high achieving, type A lives believing that there was no end to their right to have it all, suddenly decided that a baby needs his mother, and dad isn’t good enough.  If dad’s not the breadwinner, he’s just a bum.  If the law market ever picks up, when my husband and I have kids, I’ll be as proud of his “bum”-ness as he will be of my career.  And liberals still will consider people like me in opposition to all things feminist. 

(Also, as the article makes clear, George Lopez is a racist.  Which is not cool.)

Leave a Reply

