Is it weird that that’s weird now?

The other day, I was chatting with an acquaintance who had celebrated his wedding a few weeks before.  As I congratulated him profusely, I asked how married life was treating him.  He commented, positively. that it was weird, like it was a “big sleepover,” he kept expecting that one of them would be heading back soon, that he kept having to remind himself that this was their home now.  And I couldn’t get over how strange that idea, a wedding as being followed by a new experience of living together, sounded to me. 
 
Virtually everyone I know in my peer group lived together before marriage.  Ten years ago, I didn’t even plan to, and I rejected saying it, but circumstances ended up to the point that it just seemed incredibly silly not to (I, a student at the time, even maintained an on-campus place (scholarship funded) for a few months of our engagement, even though I had never spent the night there, left nothing more than the backseat of a car full of “stuff” there, and didn’t even learn two of my three roommates’ names).  I know people that, even into their late twenties, hid living situations from their parents, in a bizarre sort of don’t ask, don’t tell.  But almost everyone lived together first. 
 
It’s gotten to the point that not living together first just seems strange.  Does that sound right? 
Leave a Reply

