Warm Weather Desserts

When the weather finally starts to get warm, all I can think about is taking advantage of the new spring fruit . . . and delicious desserts.  So, I submit to you, what is probably the tastiest pie I have ever eaten: Summertime Blue Rhubarb Pie

Now, if you haven’t tried rhubarb before, I can understand your hesitancy. I mean, it looks like pink celery, and you’re supposed to use it in a dessert? 

See full size image

But I urge you to try it at least once- don’t eat it raw, just follow the recipe and you won’t be disappointed.  I haven’t tried it with frozen rhubarb yet, but I do use frozen blueberries, which, despite the recipe, I don’t bother thawing first. 

Now, on the topic of pie crusts: I urge you to try the pre-baked crust from Cook’s Illustrated , but I can’t find a link that doesn’t require a subscription (and am not up to transcribing it from my book right now).  The trick is to freeze it solid after putting it in the pan- something about the butter and shortening melting more slowly allows the flour to set earlier, which means that the crust is super flaky. 

But, if you can’t find the recipe, or just don’t like dealing with pie crusts, you can do things one step better and make my all time favorite fruit dessert: The Crisp.  It’s bigger, and better, and can be put together more quickly.  Here’s how:

Take the recipe above, leave out the pie crust, and add: 1 cup of strawberries (diced); an extra 1/3 cup sugar; an extra 1/2 tsp vanilla; an extra tablespoon flour; and then double the topping.  Put the whole thing in an 8×8 baking dish and bake until bubbly and the filling is lightly browned.

Both the pie and the crisp are even better the next day.

2 Responses

  1. […] Original post by lyssalovelyredhead […]

  2. […] Posted on April 9, 2010 by Lyssa OK, if given the choice, I’d probably still take this pie (speaking of which, I should make that next week …mmmm), but since pie generally takes a bit […]

Leave a Reply

